How Long Does Child Support Last in Rhode Island?
- posted: May 19, 2014
- Child Support
If you are facing divorce and you have children, you are likely most concerned about child custody and child support decisions. These two matters can be highly emotional and hotly contested. To protect your child’s best interests, it is imperative that you seek the counsel of a Rhode Island child support attorney well-versed in family law matters.
Under Rhode Island law, the obligation to pay child support should end when a child turns 18 and graduates high school, whichever is later, but in no event beyond age 19.
No motion to terminate child support is necessary if the support is for an only child and there is no garnishment of the support. If either situation is not the case, then the court is the only forum to terminate support. A non-custodial parent who is paying child support should consider contacting a Rhode Island Child Support Attorney to file the motion to terminate financial support approximately 45 days prior to your child turning 18 years of age and graduating from high school. This allows your lawyer to schedule the motion to be heard by the court as quickly after your child turns 18 as possible.
It is important to understand that if you fail to comply with the child support order (even after you child has turned 18 years of age) and if you have not received a termination order, you can be held in contempt of court.
If you have questions about your obligation to pay child support or your child’s right to receive financial support, contact Kirshenbaum Law Associates.